Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

President of Bangladesh is the head of the state

Honorable President Abdul Hamid: Abdul Hamid was born on January 1, 1944 in Mithamain upazila of Kishorgonj District. Mr. Hamid was the acting president from March 20 to April 24, 2013. Abdul Hamid tool oath as the President on 22 April, 2013…..read more about Mr. Md Abdul Hamid

The President of Bangladesh is the head of state of Bangladesh and appoints the judiciary, legislative and executive. The president is elected by the parliament since 1991 when Bangladesh started journey to a parliamentary democracy. The President is elected by 300 parliamentarians in an open ballot for five years. The Bangaghaban Palace is office and residence of the Bangladesh president.

During caretaker government, the power of the President are substantially expanded to complete a successful election to transfer power. In the time of election the President has control of Ministry of defense and the only authority to declare a state of emergency. When a new government and parliament are in place and parliament elects a new president the Power and position of the President revert to their ceremonial role.

The constitution of Bangladesh allows the President of Bangladesh to act upon the advice of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. The President can dismiss the Parliament upon request of the Prime Minister. The President can appoint the Chief Justice and other Judges of the Court. The President can also appoint the Chief Election Commissioner and other Commissioners.

Residence of President of Bangladesh

Abdul Hamid President of Bangladesh

By the Article 51 of the Constitution, the President is not answerable for his action to anybody and no criminal charges can be brought against him to the Court. But only the Parliament seeks to impeach the President with specific charges against the President. The President has the Power of mercy to grand pardon to anybody even any verdict given by any Court in Bangladesh.

If the President is absence due to illness or other reasons, the Speaker of Parliament will act as the President of Bangladesh. The President can resign from his office by writing a letter by hand to the speaker.


President’s Office

Bangabhaban, Dhaka – 1000

Phone: 88-02-9568041-50

0088 – 02 – 9585502 (Secretary)
0088 – 02 – 9566242 (Press Secretary)
0088 – 02 – 9566240 (AMSP)
0088 – 02 – 9550185 (Protocol Officer)


Press Wing
Press Secretary : 02-9566594

Deputy Press Secretary : 02-9563835

Assistant Press Secretary : 02-9569298

Bangabhaban Public Division Officials telephone number:

Secretary : 02-9566233
Additional Secretary : 02-9567092
Deputy Secretary : 02-9566565
Deputy Secretary : 02-9550311
Deputy Secretary : 02-9563864
Senior Asst. Secretary (Fund & Petition) : 02-9569297
Asst. Private Secretary to the President-1 : 02-9559476
Accounts Officer 02- 9570789

Bangabhaban Personal Division Officials telephone number:

Military Secretary to Honourable President (MSP) : 02-9566262
Additional Secretary 9586664
Asstt. Military Secretary to Honourable President : 02-9566261
Personal Physician to Honourable President : 02-9559163
Asstt. Personal Physician to Honourable President : 02-9565377
Deputy Secretary : 02-9570241
ADC to the honourable President : 02-9555110
ADC to the honourable President : 02-9555110
ADC to the honourable President : 02-9555110
PS (Coord) to MSP : 02-9555992
Chief Comptroller : 02-9559164
LadyMedical Officer : 02-9569935
Senior Assitt. Secretary : 02-9585508
Protocol Officer : 02-9563836
Police Liaison Officer : 02-9563867
Hospitality Officer : 02-9568283
Medical Officer : 02-9587955
Accounts Officer : 02-9515676
Assistant Programmer : 02-9585510


Bangladesh President List

Presidents of Bangladesh from 1971 are Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Syed Nazrul Islam, Abu Sayeed Chowdhury, Mohammad Mohammadullah, Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad, Abu Sadat Mohammad Sayem, Ziaur Rahman, Abdus Sattar, Ahsanuddin Chowdhury, Hussain Muhammad Ershad, Abdur Rahman Biswas, Shahabuddin Ahmed, AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury, Muhammad Jamiruddin Sircar, Iajuddin Ahmed, Zillur Rahman, Abdul Hamid, who is the current president of Bangladesh


Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman
President from
April, 11 1971 to January 12 , 1972
Awami League (AL)

Syed Nazrul Islam

Syed Nazrul Islam
Acting President  from
April 17, 1971 to January 12 , 1972
Awami League (AL)


Justice  Abu Sayeed Chowdhury

Abu Sayeed Chowdhury
January 12 , 1972 to December 24 , 1973
Awami League (AL)


Speaker Mohammad Mohammadullah

President-in-charge from December 24 , 1973 to January 25 , 1975
Awami League (AL)


Sheikh Mujibur Rahman
President from January 25 , 1975 to August 15, 1975
Awami League (AL)


Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad

Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad
President from August 15 , 1975 to November 6 , 1975
Awami League (AL)


Justice Abu Sadat Mohammad Sayem

Abu Sadat Mohammad Sayem
President from November 6 , 1975 to April 21 , 1977
Awami League (AL)


Major General Ziaur Rahman, Bir Uttam, PSC

Ziaur Rahman

President from April 21, 1977 to May 30 , 1981
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)


Justice Abdus Sattar

Acting President  from May 30 , 1981 to March24 , 1982
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)


Justice Abul Fazal Mohammad Ahsanuddin Chowdhury

Ahsanuddin Chowdhury
from March 27 , 1982 to December 10 , 1983


Lt. General  Hussain Muhammad Ershad, Ndc, PSC

Hussain Muhammad Ershad
from December 11 , 1983 to December 6 , 1990
Jatiya Party (JP)


Justice Shahabuddin Ahmed
President from December 6 , 1990 to October 10 , 1991


Abdur Rahman Biswas

Abdur Rahman Biswas
from October 10 , 1991 to October 9 , 1996
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)


Justice Shahabuddin Ahmed

Shahabuddin Ahmed
President from October 9 , 1996 to November 14, 2001
Awami League (AL)


AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury

AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury
from November 14 , 2001 to June 21 , 2002
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)


Speaker Muhammad Jamiruddin Sircar

Muhammad Jamiruddin Sircar
President in charge from June 21, 2002 to September 6 , 2002
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)

Professor Iajuddin Ahmed

Iajuddin Ahmed
(1931- 10 December 2012 )
from September 6 , 2002 to February 12, 2009
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)


Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman
President from February 12 , 2009 to March 20, 2013
Awami League (AL)


Abdul Hamid

Abdul Hamid
President from March 20, 2013 to till day

Awami League ( AL)

Bangladesh president residence is located in Motijheel area beside Dilkusha commercial area. The Bangabhaban is the president office cum residence of Bangladesh president. According to Bangladesh constitution there is no vice-presidency but speaker will be the acting president if the current president of Bangladesh get sick or any there reason that makes the position vacant suddenly.

You May Like to Read