Shawkat Ali (12 February 1936 – 25 January 2018) was a Bangladeshi author. He was awarded Bangla Academy Literary Award in 1968 and Ekushey Padak in 1990 by the Authorities of Bangladesh.

Shawkat Ali was born in Raiganj in West Dinajpur district in present-day India. He handed his IA from Surendranath School in 1951 and BA in 1955. Shawkat Ali accomplished his MA in Bengali literature from the College of Dhaka in 1958.shawkat ali

Shawkat Ali began writing articles in newspapers in 1955. He began his profession on the news desk of Dainik Millat in the identical yr. He joined in Thakurgaon as a faculty teacher for six months. He taught Bengali at Jagannath college in Dhaka between 1962 and 1987. He joined the Dhaka head workplace of District Gazetteer as an assistant director and later turned its director. He was appointed principal of Authorities Music School in 1989 from the place he retired in 1993.

Ali’s notable novels embody Prodoshe Prakritojon (1984), Opekkha (1984) and Dakkhinyaoner Din (1985).Prodoshe Prakritojon is his most notable – which tells the story of the oppression confronted by the lower-caste individuals within the Sena Empire that dominated the Bengal by way of 11th and 12th centuries. Uttarer Khep was tailored into a movie of the identical identify in 2000. The movie received the Bangladesh Nationwide Movie Award for Greatest Actress for the efficiency by Champa.


Novels of Shawkat Ali

  • Pingal Akash (The Reddish-Brown Sky, 1963)
  • Jaatra (Journey, 1976)
  • Prodoshe Praakritajon (The Commoners in the Twiltghat, 1984)
  • Apeksha (Waiting, 1985)
  • Dakshinayaner Din (The Days of Southward Way, 1985)
  • Kulyaai Kalasrot (Time the Flow of in a Bird’s Nest, 1986)
  • Purbaratri Purbadin (The Night Before, the Day Before, 1986)
  • Sambal (Saving, 1986)
  • Gantabye Atahpar (After towards Destinations, 1987)
  • Bhalobasa Kare Kay (What is Love Caused, 1988)
  • Jete Chai (I want to Go, 1988)
  • Warish (The Successor, 1989)
  • Basar O Madhucandrima (Bride-Chamber and Honey Moon, 1990)
  • Uttarer Khep (A Trip to the North, 1991)
  • Tripodi (2002)


Shawkat Ali received Awards

– Bangla Academy Literary Award (1968)
– Humayun Kabir Memorial Award
– Lekhak Shibir Medal (1978)
– Ajit Guha Literary Prize (1982)
– Philips Literary Award (1986 and 1989)
– Ekushey Padak (1990)