Grading System in Bangladesh

Grading is a standardized measurements of levels in Education. There are total  6 level grading system are 1 to 6 or A to F. Primary School, High School, College of Bangladesh maintaining GPA grading system for preparation of result according to the following calculation:


Grading system in Bangladesh For school

Numerical Grading systemLetter grading SystemGrade Point


Above grading system may not applicable for all education levels.

In 2009, The Bangladesh government changed to the result system for public examinations, matching the existing grades with the previous classes or divisions according to obtained marks.

There are separate criterias equivalent to the grading system for the HSC & SSC levels to reintroduce 1st division, 2nd division and 3rd divisions or classes in proportion to grad-point average (GPA) marks.

GPA – Grade Point Average  3.50 or above is equivalent to first division while GPA less than 3.50 to 2.50 is 2nd division and GPA less than 2.50 to 1 is 3rd division for the students who passed SSC and equivalent exams during 2001-2003 period and who passed HSC and its equivalents in 2003.

Regarding score of marks — GPA 4 or above is equivalent to 1st division while GPA less than 4 to 3 is 2nd division and GPA less than 3 to 1 is 3rd division for the students who passed SSC and HSC and equivalents in 2004 and thereafter.

Besides, the approved universities will have to fix their Cumulative
CGPA – Grade Point Average  scale (4 or 5) equivalent to 80 percent marks. Then division or class will be fixed converting the achieved CGPA to 100%  numbers.

 60% or above number is 1st class or division while less than 60% to 45% second class or division and less than 45% to 33% third class or division.


UGC grading system that University Grants Commission (UGC) approved for Universities in Bangladesh.

Numerical Grading systemLetter grading SystemLetter GradeGrade Point
80% and above MarksA+A Plus4.0
75 % to 79% MarksAA Regular3.75
70%  to 74% MarksA-A Minus3.5
65 %  to 69% MarksB+B Plus3.25
60%  to 64% MarksBB Regular3.0
55%  to 59% MarksB-B Minus2.75
50%  to 54% MarksC+C Plus2.5
45%  to 49% MarksCC Regular2.25
40%  to 44% MarksD 2.0
Less than 40% MarksF 00

 Universities  in Bangladesh can  use ‘I’ grade in case of incomplete grade and ‘W’ for withdrawn courses.

grading system bangladeshHistorian George W Pierson of Yale University  writes ” According to Tradition” the first grades issued at  Yale University in 1985.  Most of the country using their own grading system (GPA) in School, College and University. And grading points also different i.e 1 to 7. Grading Points are always represented with whole numbers such as 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7 are the only possible grades.

Because these grading points do not represent percentages, but instead correspond with specific rubric requirements, one could theoretically answer 90% of questions on a given examination correctly, but still get a GPA 5 if the 10% they missed represented crucial problems that corresponded to the 6 and 7 grade mark-bands. Additionally, each subject has slightly different ranges that correspond with different grading boundaries,

m r

Share This:

Join Amazon Prime - Watch Thousands of Movies & TV Shows Anytime - Start Free Trial Now
Join Amazon Family 30-Day Free Trial
Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial
Try Amazon Music Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial