Ben­gali Cal­en­dar

The Ben­gali cal­en­dar (Bangla Shôn) or Bangla cal­en­dar is a tra­di­tional solar cal­en­dar used in Bangladesh. The year begins on Pôhela Baishakh, which falls on 14 April.

Ben­gali cal­en­dar is used in and India’s east­ern states of West Ben­gal, Assam and Tripura
The Ben­gali year is always 593 less than the year in the Gre­go­rian cal­en­dar of the Chris­t­ian Era or Anno Domini era or Com­mon Era or Cur­rent Era for the period after Pôhela Boishakh. How­ever, the Ben­gali year is 594 less than the Gre­go­rian year if it is before Pôhela Boishakh.

King Shashanka of Ancient Ben­gal, who ruled approx­i­mately between 590 AD and 625 AD, is cred­ited with start­ing the Ben­gali era. Shashanka was the sov­er­eign king of Ben­gal at the start of sev­enth cen­tury. Much of today’s Indian states of Ben­gal, Bihar, and Orissa was under his king­dom.

Mughal Emperor Akbar, who ruled from 1556 AD until 1605 AD, and one of his coun­cil­lor Fate­hul­lah Shi­razi are cred­ited with mod­i­fy­ing the new Ben­gali cal­en­dar for tax col­lec­tion pur­poses.

The names of the twelve months of the Ben­gali cal­en­dar are based on the names of the nokkhotro (lunar man­sions): loca­tions of the moon with respect to par­tic­u­lar stars dur­ing the lunar cycle.

The names of the months are:

• ????? Boishakh
• ??????? Joish?ho
• ????? Asha?h
• ?????? Srabon
• ????? Bhadro
• ?????? Ashshin
• ??????? Kar­tik
• ????????? Ôgro­haeon
• ??? Poush
• ??? Magh
• ??????? Fal­gun
• ????? Choitro